The Thing About Age…

A funny thing happened today.

I went to the library today and was accused of being a high schooler. Then I was threatened with being forcibly removed, my parents called, and getting detention at high school… It wasn’t until I showed my irate library thugs (read: little old ladies and a bespectacled little man) my license with my 1980-something birthday that I was let of the hook.

You know, everyone says it is a good thing to look young and I should take it as a compliment, and for the most part I agree. However, in the instances where I’m mistaken for a teenager, I’m not flattered. I’m irritated. I couldn’t possibly look the same as those twitty little girls in their sparkly eyeshadows and ridiculously tight jeans. And… how embarrassing to be told to leave someplace because I’m cutting “HIGH SCHOOL.”

Needless to say, I feel even more ridiculous having to defend against such accusations because this year marks my 10 year high school reunion. That’s right…. TEN. I’m 10 years removed from high school and still being accused of cutting school!

Also… 10 years ago, there is no way I would have cut school. I was way too much of a nerd. If only!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

