The Mean Things We Say

I’ve been seeing someone for the last few months. We’ve had a couple disagreements over silly things… mostly misunderstanding text messages and intentions.

We had another blow up on Saturday, and he stood me up after we had made plans. After I called to talk about him yanking my chain again, he blew up and said some mean things.

For the first time in my life, I bit my tongue and hung up. I realized that the mean things we say, despite not meaning them, can affect people. I tend not to care what people think, but his words hurt.

So. To the mean things we say…. let’s put them to bed and not do it any more.

Leave a Reply

